August 14, 2026 — Edit memory settings for existing projects
You can now change a project’s memory setting after you create it. Open the project, select the three-dot menu, choose Project settings, and select Default memory or Project-only memory under Memory.
With project-only memory, ChatGPT can use conversations from the same project for context, but it won’t reference memories or conversations from outside the project. Information from the project is also kept out of memory used in chats outside the project.Changes may take a few hours to take effect.
This update is available on all ChatGPT plans. Shared projects continue to use project-only memory and cannot be switched to default memory. ChatGPT Work is not available in projects using project-only memory.
Learn more aboutProjects in ChatGPT.